Monday, August 27, 2012

INDIA won Under-19 World Cup - 2012

India won their third Under-19 World Cup title as captain Unmukt Chand came up with a crucial, unbeaten ton in the final against Australia. India won its first Under-19 World Cup title in 2000 under the leadership of Mohammed Kaif and in 2008 under Virat Kohli. It is Chand’s third consecutive century in tournament finals to lift the trophy. It is said to be the highest successful chase at this venue to beat defending champions Australia in the final. Australian skipper Bosisto was awarded the Player of the Tournament award.

Earlier Australia posted a competitive total of 225 for 8 with the help of skipper William Bosisto (87 not out) who rebuilt the innings from 38 for 4. India's chase was a Topsy-turvy chase but it was steered around by the captain, who scored 111 not out off 130 balls with six sixes and seven boundaries. He was well supported by Baba Aparajith and Smit Patel who remained unbeaten on 62. India’s U-19 victory was applauded by Sachin Tendulkar, M.S.Dhoni and many former players. BCCI announces Rs 20 lakh cash prize for India Under-19 squad.

No comments:

Post a Comment